Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Suggestions for RAM

  1. #1
    Ken's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Gender
    Location
    Inside a Mattel box.
    Posts
    249
    Thanks
    249
    Thanked 239 Times in 154 Posts


    Downloads
    15
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    115 Post(s)
    Time Online
    11 d 15 h 7 m
    Avg. Time Online
    10 m
    Rep Power
    5

    Suggestions for RAM

    Guys I ain't a hardware guy so I wanna ask you some questions:
    1) Does the brand for an 8gb ram matter?
    2) If you answered yes on 1st question, what brand would you recommend me getting?
    3) If I upgrade my RAM, will it increase my laptop's speed?
    4) If you answered no on 3rd question, what should I do to increase my laptop's speed?
    Last edited by Ken; 08-22-2013 at 12:27 AM.

  2. #2


    Demetri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Gender
    Posts
    861
    Thanks
    529
    Thanked 997 Times in 481 Posts


    Downloads
    7
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    361 Post(s)
    Time Online
    61 d 12 h 36 m
    Avg. Time Online
    47 m
    Rep Power
    6
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: HeartbreakJay PSN ID: Clyrkos
    So if no is my answer to #1, is it game over for me?

  3. #3
    Ken's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Gender
    Location
    Inside a Mattel box.
    Posts
    249
    Thanks
    249
    Thanked 239 Times in 154 Posts


    Downloads
    15
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    115 Post(s)
    Time Online
    11 d 15 h 7 m
    Avg. Time Online
    10 m
    Rep Power
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by Demetri View Post
    So if no is my answer to #1, is it game over for me?
    No Dem, let me revise my questions.XD

    @Demetri I ain't a hardware guy so I wanna ask you some questions:

    #1 Does the brand for an 8gb ram matter?
    If NO, proceed to #3.
    If YES, proceed to #2.

    #2 What brand would you recommend me getting?
    Please specify name of brand and why.
    Proceed to #3.

    #3 If I upgrade my RAM, will it increase my laptop's speed?
    If YES, proceed to #4A.
    If NO, proceed to #4B.

    #4A Thanks for answering! If you have more tips on what can I upgrade on my laptop, it'd be great if you can share them to me.
    #4B Thanks for answering! If you have tips on what can I upgrade on my laptop, it'd be great if you can share them to me.


    PS
    I was supposed to do a diagram for you but this editor here automatically deletes the s p a c e s so the arrows I make are messed up lol

  4. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Ken For This Useful Post:

    fairydust201 (08-29-2013),Whispers (08-24-2013)

  5. #4

    Mod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Gender
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,821
    Thanks
    1,563
    Thanked 4,711 Times in 2,504 Posts


    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    1365 Post(s)
    Time Online
    131 d 12 h 4 m
    Avg. Time Online
    1 h 42 m
    Rep Power
    11
    1) Yes. Mainly for reliability though. Whatever sticks you're looking at, read reviews. Also check for return policy from where you buy it, and warranty coverage from the brand.
    2) I'm not a RAM guy, but I'd say Kingston and Mushkin are good; OCZ is fair (still read reviews!)
    3) Only if your laptop is a piece of shit to begin with and had unusually low RAM capacities before (rare in 2013). RAM speed is important, but capped at your processor's bus speed too; any higher wouldn't help. Eg. if your CPU's bus is 800 Mhz and your RAM is 1066 Mhz, it'll still only work up to 800 Mhz. Other things to consider is CAS latency, the lower the #s, the better.
    4) RAM plays a small part in a laptop's speed. If you game on it, the video card is a huge bottleneck in performance. Otherwise it's dependent on the CPU speed and hard drive rpm.

    RAM = easily upgradeable on a laptop
    VC = hard, only if you originally custom purchased your laptop and ask the dealer
    CPU = almost impossible; they're usually soldered onto a laptop's mobo, but still possible if you find the right source
    HD = easy on a laptop. The higher the RPM, the faster things will load; but higher rpm also = more heat.

    You can get an SSD to replace a conventional HD (no spinning disks or heat issues); they're essentially high capacity flash drives. The con is they cost a ton and have lower capacities, compared to standard HDs. Another con to SSDs is if there is mechanical failure, data loss is much more substantial than HDs, although modern improvements have minimized that risk somewhat.

    EDIT: Heh, I forgot to mention the main advantage to SSDs. They're fast, very fast. A cold boot from turning on your laptop is ~10-30 seconds; a lot of program loads are almost instantaneous.
    Last edited by Mod; 08-22-2013 at 02:40 AM.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Mod For This Useful Post:

    Ken (08-23-2013)

  7. #5
    Ken's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Gender
    Location
    Inside a Mattel box.
    Posts
    249
    Thanks
    249
    Thanked 239 Times in 154 Posts


    Downloads
    15
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    115 Post(s)
    Time Online
    11 d 15 h 7 m
    Avg. Time Online
    10 m
    Rep Power
    5
    @Mod
    Thanks for the tips braddah!

    Wow FUCK upgrading a laptop is so fucking complicated. And annoying. And such a hassle.-.-

    Anyway, I'm downloading this program right now that will display my CPU stats so I can check my bus speed. I just want to increase my RAM so I can play with some programs without lagging.

    And shit I was planning on upgrading this laptop's video card but meh, since you said it's hard I'm having doubts now. My laptop's not custom-built so I think I'll have a hard time.

    ---------- Post added at 12:53 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:03 AM ----------

    Okay so I am on this program that displays my hardware stats and I am confused as fuck which of these is my bus speed.

    SOS @Mod

    ---------- Post added at 12:56 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:53 AM ----------

    Oh there it is. I've got:
    Front Side Bus Speed - 2x 2.4GHz (4.79GHz)
    same value as Maximum FSB Speed.

    I'm trying to go for an 8gb ram, shall I go for it?

  8. #6

    Mod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Gender
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,821
    Thanks
    1,563
    Thanked 4,711 Times in 2,504 Posts


    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    1365 Post(s)
    Time Online
    131 d 12 h 4 m
    Avg. Time Online
    1 h 42 m
    Rep Power
    11
    Guess you got your hardware stats sorted out,

    Quote Originally Posted by Ken View Post
    I'm trying to go for an 8gb ram, shall I go for it?
    Yes, 8 GB is good enough for all modern games at present.

    16+ GB is overkill and only necessary if you do heavy graphics work like AutoCADing; waste of money otherwise.

    In a few years, 16+ GB may be recommended, but face it: if your laptop is meh and limited by the video card now, you'll probably buy a new laptop then anyways (or your current will crap out by then),

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to Mod For This Useful Post:

    Ken (08-23-2013)

  10. #7
    Ken's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Gender
    Location
    Inside a Mattel box.
    Posts
    249
    Thanks
    249
    Thanked 239 Times in 154 Posts


    Downloads
    15
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    115 Post(s)
    Time Online
    11 d 15 h 7 m
    Avg. Time Online
    10 m
    Rep Power
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by Mod View Post
    Guess you got your hardware stats sorted out,

    Yes, 8 GB is good enough for all modern games at present.

    16+ GB is overkill and only necessary if you do heavy graphics work like AutoCADing; waste of money otherwise.

    In a few years, 16+ GB may be recommended, but face it: if your laptop is meh and limited by the video card now, you'll probably buy a new laptop then anyways (or your current will crap out by then),
    Haha I know! I've read that some people go for 32gb RAM and I'm like wtf are u using that much ram for?

    And yeah I'll probably be getting a newer laptop soon but for now, I'll stick with upgrading my RAM. Thanks man! You're a life saver.

  11. #8


    TreesNut's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Gender
    Location
    Califas
    Posts
    630
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 118 Times in 105 Posts


    Downloads
    262
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    63 Post(s)
    Time Online
    9 d 3 h 26 m
    Avg. Time Online
    7 m
    Rep Power
    5
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: VagabondJam201
    Quote Originally Posted by Ken View Post
    Guys I ain't a hardware guy so I wanna ask you some questions:
    1) Does the brand for an 8gb ram matter?
    2) If you answered yes on 1st question, what brand would you recommend me getting?
    3) If I upgrade my RAM, will it increase my laptop's speed?
    4) If you answered no on 3rd question, what should I do to increase my laptop's speed?
    As long as you know your hardware brand , and compability you should be fine.

    Memory Rams , are different , some motherboards , support , DDR (quiteold) DDR2(recent DDR3 newest

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to TreesNut For This Useful Post:

    Ken (08-24-2013)

  13. #9
    Little Brother


    Zachafer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Gender
    Posts
    1,206
    Thanks
    723
    Thanked 1,392 Times in 651 Posts


    Downloads
    81
    Uploads
    17
    Mentioned
    497 Post(s)
    Time Online
    21 d 17 h 32 m
    Avg. Time Online
    16 m
    Rep Power
    14
    How much RAM do you have now? 4gb?

    How many RAM slots does your laptop have?

    Corsair > Crucial > Mushkin > Kingston > etc

    I'd say find a nice Crucial one. Even a low-end piece of RAM won't blow on you these days

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to Zachafer For This Useful Post:

    Ken (08-24-2013)

  15. #10
    Ken's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Gender
    Location
    Inside a Mattel box.
    Posts
    249
    Thanks
    249
    Thanked 239 Times in 154 Posts


    Downloads
    15
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    115 Post(s)
    Time Online
    11 d 15 h 7 m
    Avg. Time Online
    10 m
    Rep Power
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by Zachafer View Post
    How much RAM do you have now? 4gb?

    How many RAM slots does your laptop have?

    Corsair > Crucial > Mushkin > Kingston > etc

    I'd say find a nice Crucial one. Even a low-end piece of RAM won't blow on you these days
    No I think I only have 2gb. Fucking shitty right?
    RAM slots? Lemme check
    ...
    crucial.com says 2 slots so..
    Idk what that really means lol

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •