Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Do I need a new pc?

  1. #1
    Tyranitar's Avatar
    Joined
    May 2013
    Posts
    473
    Userbars
    29
    Thanks
    511
    Thanked
    682/247
    DL/UL
    59/0
    Mentioned
    54 times
    Time Online
    29d 18h 46m
    Avg. Time Online
    12m

    Do I need a new pc?

    Hey there! Good day and thanks for reading.

    My PC is a (you need an account to see links)

    It had very good aspects back in the day.

    • Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3770 CPU @ 3.40GHz 3.40 GHz
    • Motherboard: Joshua-H61-uATX (Joshua)
    • RAM 8 GB PC3-12800 MB/s DDR3 (later expanded to 16G
    • HDD 2 TB SATA 7200 RPM
    • Graphic Card Radeon HD 8470


    I use it mainly to do some CAD Drawing with AutoCAD and basic 3D with Sketchup so I don't need a better graphic card because I don't need to render in high quality and I don't play high demanding games.
    Anyway long story short, my PC is very slow lately even when I don't have a lot of processes and sometimes it suddenly shuts down . I have analysed for virus/malware/adware and everything is clean.

    (you need an account to see links)
    (you need an account to see links)
    (you need an account to see links)

    Dooo you think the problem is the HDD? The gen 3 core processor?
    Help

  2. #2
    Saiyan Race
    j03's Avatar
    Joined
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    12,827
    Userbars
    134
    Thanks
    5,315
    Thanked
    28,979/6,044
    DL/UL
    23/36
    Mentioned
    3,647 times
    Time Online
    509d 11h 10m
    Avg. Time Online
    3h 18m
    Honestly, it doesn't look like you do considering what you're using it for. Perhaps a backup of everything and reformatting the drive with a fresh copy of Windows will do the trick...

    Good luck!
    (you need an account to see links)
    (you need an account to see links)(you need an account to see links)

    ------------------------
    [02/24/2013] Stealth CORE is made into the first standalone Neopets auto-player.
    ------------------------


  3. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to j03 For This Useful Post:

    Cat Purrson (07-12-2022),Mario2302 (07-14-2022),Tyranitar (07-14-2022)

  4. #3
    Synthbass's Avatar
    Joined
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    1,476
    Pronouns
    Any
    Userbars
    40
    Thanks
    2,572
    Thanked
    1,817/819
    DL/UL
    4/0
    Mentioned
    100 times
    Time Online
    54d 19h 32m
    Avg. Time Online
    37m
    I reformatted mine after it got too slow to use, backed up all my files. It runs much better now, if all else fails, do a factory reset.

    10/10 userbar by:lyrichord

    10/10 Roland SP-55 by:Honeycomb
    My contributions:
    (you need an account to see links)
    (you need an account to see links)
    (you need an account to see links)
    (you need an account to see links)
    hearts
    Chegg

    by:Rattata


  5. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Synthbass For This Useful Post:

    Mario2302 (07-14-2022),Tyranitar (07-14-2022)

  6. #4
    Mario2302's Avatar
    Joined
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    2,172
    Userbars
    50
    Thanks
    4,318
    Thanked
    3,957/1,729
    DL/UL
    39/0
    Mentioned
    355 times
    Time Online
    108d 2h 32m
    Avg. Time Online
    57m
    the one thing you could consider if you have the space and feel comfortable enough to do so is upgrading the hard drive to a solid state one. that would improve your experience for sure seeing your still on a HDD. just a 512GB SSD for windows and programs perhaps and keep the HDD for file storage overall.

    Overall i agree with the above posts of a fresh windows installation and a backup of the files could work too and might restore the performance you had when it was new but the SSD will improve on that even.
    A new PC is definitely not needed with the usage your describing.

    - - - Updated - - -
    Based upon the task manager screenshots it does seems like the HDD is impacting the performance the most.

    How much space is still available on that disk?
    perhaps also do a health check on it with one of the built in tools on windows or with CrystalDiskInfo (just google how to do it with built in tools if you want to go that route; i like CDI more myself)


    Ruygi
    Endlessly indebted to (you need an account to see links) for this cute adoptable and Ruygi and mario on my avatar!!
    Forever thanking (you need an account to see links) for the tweaked background and custom userbar on my profile
    Perpetual gratitude to (you need an account to see links) for the custom "super mario 1 up" userbar on my avatar
    In ultimate awe of (you need an account to see links)animation and art skill on my current avatar background, the animated
    super mario custom userbar and tying it together with the one from (you need an account to see links)

  7. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Mario2302 For This Useful Post:

    CookieTray (4 Weeks Ago),j03 (07-14-2022),Tyranitar (07-14-2022)

  8. #5
    Saiyan Race
    j03's Avatar
    Joined
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    12,827
    Userbars
    134
    Thanks
    5,315
    Thanked
    28,979/6,044
    DL/UL
    23/36
    Mentioned
    3,647 times
    Time Online
    509d 11h 10m
    Avg. Time Online
    3h 18m
    Quote Originally Posted by Mario2302 View Post
    the one thing you could consider if you have the space and feel comfortable enough to do so is upgrading the hard drive to a solid state one. that would improve your experience for sure seeing your still on a HDD. just a 512GB SSD for windows and programs perhaps and keep the HDD for file storage overall.

    Overall i agree with the above posts of a fresh windows installation and a backup of the files could work too and might restore the performance you had when it was new but the SSD will improve on that even.
    A new PC is definitely not needed with the usage your describing.
    Ahh I can't believe I missed this detail. Yes x 1000000 - upgrading your hard drive to solid state will make your experience much quicker. You're local environment will become much snappier (opening apps, moving files, etc.) and you'll thank yourself for the hardware investment.
    @(you need an account to see links)
    (you need an account to see links)
    (you need an account to see links)(you need an account to see links)

    ------------------------
    [02/24/2013] Stealth CORE is made into the first standalone Neopets auto-player.
    ------------------------


  9. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to j03 For This Useful Post:

    Mario2302 (07-14-2022),Tyranitar (07-14-2022)

  10. #6
    Tyranitar's Avatar
    Joined
    May 2013
    Posts
    473
    Userbars
    29
    Thanks
    511
    Thanked
    682/247
    DL/UL
    59/0
    Mentioned
    54 times
    Time Online
    29d 18h 46m
    Avg. Time Online
    12m
    Thank you very much for all the comments!
    I have a lot of free space in the HDD (1.39Tb free) but I also think a SSD might help a lot

    I downloaded CrystalDiscInfo and ran it and I think is all good.


    So I searched in my PC for a "P4" cable conector and I have an available one, that means I can install the SSD, right?
    Or what else do I need to know?
    How do I know if the SSD is going to fit in?
    (you need an account to see links)

    Thank you very much @(you need an account to see links), @(you need an account to see links) & @(you need an account to see links)


    --- Update
    Nice, new popsicle UB thanks to this one.
    Last edited by Tyranitar; 07-14-2022 at 11:10 AM.

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to Tyranitar For This Useful Post:

    Mario2302 (07-14-2022)

  12. #7
    Saiyan Race
    j03's Avatar
    Joined
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    12,827
    Userbars
    134
    Thanks
    5,315
    Thanked
    28,979/6,044
    DL/UL
    23/36
    Mentioned
    3,647 times
    Time Online
    509d 11h 10m
    Avg. Time Online
    3h 18m
    Quote Originally Posted by Tyranitar View Post
    Thank you very much for all the comments!
    I have a lot of free space in the HDD (1.39Tb free) but I also think a SSD might help a lot

    I downloaded CrystalDiscInfo and ran it and I think is all good.


    So I searched in my PC for a "P4" cable conector and I have an available one, that means I can install the SSD, right?
    Or what else do I need to know?
    How do I know if the SSD is going to fit in?
    (you need an account to see links)

    Thank you very much @(you need an account to see links), @(you need an account to see links) & @(you need an account to see links)


    --- Update
    Nice, new popsicle UB thanks to this one.
    The solid state drive likely uses the same connection cable as the existing hard drive, so no worries there. You'll want to mount the SSD to a bracket within your computer casing, hopefully one already exists in there. Definitely the best route to speeding things up.
    (you need an account to see links)
    (you need an account to see links)(you need an account to see links)

    ------------------------
    [02/24/2013] Stealth CORE is made into the first standalone Neopets auto-player.
    ------------------------


  13. The Following User Says Thank You to j03 For This Useful Post:

    Synthbass (07-14-2022)

  14. #8
    Mario2302's Avatar
    Joined
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    2,172
    Userbars
    50
    Thanks
    4,318
    Thanked
    3,957/1,729
    DL/UL
    39/0
    Mentioned
    355 times
    Time Online
    108d 2h 32m
    Avg. Time Online
    57m
    Quote Originally Posted by Tyranitar View Post
    Thank you very much for all the comments!
    I have a lot of free space in the HDD (1.39Tb free) but I also think a SSD might help a lot

    I downloaded CrystalDiscInfo and ran it and I think is all good.


    So I searched in my PC for a "P4" cable conector and I have an available one, that means I can install the SSD, right?
    Or what else do I need to know?
    How do I know if the SSD is going to fit in?
    (you need an account to see links)

    Thank you very much @(you need an account to see links), @(you need an account to see links) & @(you need an account to see links)


    --- Update
    Nice, new popsicle UB thanks to this one.
    CDI info looks good and with the space you have left i'm not sure why the disk is having such a bad performance honestly but i also don't know what to look into further.
    regardless the SSD would be a great upgrade.

    you'll need the P4 connector for power and a SATA cable for the data transfers.
    if you're not gonna replace the HDD you might have to buy that one separately. also check a free sata connection is available on your motherboard just to be sure (quickly searched for it and it seems to have four so you should be ok on that front).

    as Joe mentions you'll also want to mount the drive itself and depending on the case you might have to get a bracket for that.

    i think the video captures the details honestly so if you follow that you should be good.

    do look out you get the correct SSD type.
    you want to get a 2.5 inch SATA SSD
    a M.2 SSD would potentially give an even higher performance boost but as far as i could see on the pics i found of the motherboard it does not have a slot for it so you can't install that one.


    Ruygi
    Endlessly indebted to (you need an account to see links) for this cute adoptable and Ruygi and mario on my avatar!!
    Forever thanking (you need an account to see links) for the tweaked background and custom userbar on my profile
    Perpetual gratitude to (you need an account to see links) for the custom "super mario 1 up" userbar on my avatar
    In ultimate awe of (you need an account to see links)animation and art skill on my current avatar background, the animated
    super mario custom userbar and tying it together with the one from (you need an account to see links)

  15. The Following User Says Thank You to Mario2302 For This Useful Post:

    Synthbass (07-14-2022)

  16. #9
    Tyranitar's Avatar
    Joined
    May 2013
    Posts
    473
    Userbars
    29
    Thanks
    511
    Thanked
    682/247
    DL/UL
    59/0
    Mentioned
    54 times
    Time Online
    29d 18h 46m
    Avg. Time Online
    12m
    Thank you again. I'll buy the SSD and update you later.

  17. #10

    Joined
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    74
    Userbars
    1
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked
    30/17
    DL/UL
    21/0
    Mentioned
    1 time
    Time Online
    1d 15h 5m
    Avg. Time Online
    1m
    I'm going to +1 on the SSD, it's miraculous how much faster tasks run when you just get rid of the spinning HDD. I always equate it to a record scratching up slowly to get to the song and all the extras required to change records. When you switch to all MP3s on an iPod, it's just way faster all around.

    The other parts do definitely look serviceable for the described work otherwise.

  18. The Following User Says Thank You to HiroiSekai For This Useful Post:

    Zenitsu (08-06-2022)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •