Thread: How to do a confrontation (for the bad-at-confrontation people)

Pronouns
    she/her
    Userbars
    Thanks
    DL/UL
    8/0
    Mentioned
    5 times
    Time Online
    3d 9h 9m
    Avg. Time Online
    1m

How to do a confrontation (for the bad-at-confrontation people)

Confrontations suck. All the possible social anxiety on top of the shouting and just general anxiety. I'm not very good at it and I learned some specialized 'conflict resolution' skills in therapy, which I figured everyone would be interested in since we all have to do confronting eventually.
    It could just be a friend you lent something to who hasn't returned it, your significant other is leaving mud all over the hallway, or telling your boss that you'd really rather not work a double, thankyouverymuch. It can be hard to figure out what to say or even where to start on how to get your point across.

The first step is deciding if you want a confrontation. Maybe you don't actually know what you want out of this. Maybe what you want is short term and a risk to the long term. Maybe you think you don't deserve to get what you want (You do, because you are wonderful and happiness is a right, not a privilege). So... is it worth it? Do you really need that DVD back? A clean hallway? To not work yourself to exhaustion? Ok, step two.

Now it's time for the hard part. What do you want out of this? Do you specifically want the DVD or just to know when they'll be done with it? How much are you willing to compromise? Will you accept mud as long as it's only next to the door? Can you live with backing down completely? Will you feel like poop if you do? Is this less about the work and more about your boss respecting your choice the first time without pressuring you? Taking a stand requires a foundation, and keeping your goal in mind will help you in the most important part.