PDA

View Full Version : What supplements do you take for working out?

n_eko
11-25-2015, 09:57 PM
I'm pretty new to working out and as a girl I don't know what supplements(if any) I should take. I take my multi-vitamins, protein and will occasionally take some of my boyfriends pre-workout.

What do you take and why?

11-25-2015, 10:17 PM
how old are you? Over 18?

Work with one scoop of C4 extreme (any flavor) for about a month or two and move up to two scoops

Then one scoop of golden whey after

Skarner
11-25-2015, 10:23 PM
Here's a pretty good breakdown video. Not really sure how these effect girls, so it's up to you and maybe a doctor to determine what you need. I personally use whey protein, fish oil tablets, multivitamins, and I'm trying out beta-alanine. I used pre-workouts for a few weeks, but they make my heart rate go insane, so I cut them out.

[Only registered and activated users can see links]

Sci_Girl
11-25-2015, 10:38 PM
Waste of money. If you already have a good diet do not bother with the protein powders or supplements. The 18-30 year olds that live off the stuff and look like gorillas are jacked up on the idea that they are a wonder method...and the shit ton of caffeine that is in the products. If you have a good diet then adding the extra protein puts you at risk for kidney, heart and bone disease. Excess protein is not good. Medical studies have shown little to no effect, largely a placebo effect.

As for other supplements they are basically sugar placebos. Medical studies continually show they are just lies in a bottle. Other than maybe, and I mean maybe maybe, Vitamin D tablets if you are in a relatively non-sunny location you really do not need to take anything. Consulting with your doctor about any extra supplements is the best way to approach it.