PDA

View Full Version : Severely overweight & wanting to change - any tips? :(

eclipsen
06-04-2014, 06:18 PM
As the title says.

I've been overweight since I was a kid. My parents are overweight, most of my siblings are overweight, we just weren't raised with proper eating habits or encouraged to be physically active. My health is very bad and I'm sure at least some of it can be contributed to my weight.

Does anyone have any tips for a complete beginner to losing weight properly? I have dropped 50 pounds very quickly in the past but that was by just cutting myself off from food as much as physically possible. Please don't suggest I do that again. I want to get healthy, not just lose weight. :/

If you suggest workouts, please keep in mind that I suffer from a shit load of pain from other health issues, so something not too intense would be great...

And I'd really appreciate if you didn't make any negative comments because I'm overweight. I get enough of that in real life already.

Onyx
06-04-2014, 06:35 PM
If you are serious about working out and dieting this ([Only registered and activated users can see links]) website is one of the best out there. It will walk you through all the steps needed to create a proper diet and workout plan for you.

Here is some personal advice from myself:

Start out making small changes. You said you lost 50lbs , but you were cutting yourself from all food as much as possible. That is not good! Implement small changes over time and eventually they will add up. For instance:

-Drink pop or other unhealthy drinks (energy drinks) everyday? Cut down to only drinking them 3 days a week. After a month or so, completely eliminate them from your diet. Also, try to drink the recommended amount of water everyday.
-Don't eat healthy very often? Try eating healthy for one meal a week...then two meals...then three, and as time goes on you will start to crave healthy foods instead of junk food.