Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Changing your IP - 3 Methods

  1. #1
    Nik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Gender
    Posts
    228
    Thanks
    124
    Thanked 107 Times in 70 Posts


    Downloads
    30
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    43 Post(s)
    Time Online
    8 d 22 h 56 m
    Avg. Time Online
    6 m
    Rep Power
    7

    Changing your IP - 3 Methods

    HOW TO CHANGE YOUR IP ADDRESS

    (I think this can be used to remove an IP ban.)
    There are multiple ways of changing IP, if one doesn't work just try another.
    (These methods won't change static IP, they only change dynamic.)

    To check your IP address go to this website (http://checkip.dyndns.org/)
    You should check before you try to change it so you can know if it changed.


    Method A:

    Unplug or turn off your modem and leave it overnight. This should change your IP address if this fails you can try one of
    the other methods. (The amount of time this takes varies, for some people it will change instantly!)

    Method B:

    1: Go to: start menu > all programs > accessories > notepad, then copy and paste this into notepad

    "@echo off
    title IP Changer
    color 0a
    echo 0% Complete
    ipconfig /release
    cls
    echo 33% Complete!
    ipconfig /flushdns
    echo 66% Complete!
    ipconfig /renew
    cls
    echo 100% Complete!
    echo.
    pause"

    (Remove the quotations)

    2: Then save your file as .bat like shown in the screenshot below.



    3: Now close notepad and locate where you saved the file.

    4: Run the file and it should do this.



    5: When it says "100 Complete! Press any key to continue..." Just press any key.



    6: Now turn off your modem and shutdown your computer. When you have done this turn them both back on and your IP should be
    changed!


    Method C:

    1: Connect your computer directly to your modem.

    2: Now go to: start menu > all programs > accessories > command prompt

    3: Now enter in the command prompt: "ipconfig /release" (Without quotations)

    4: Wait a minute or until your internet disconnects

    5: Now enter in the command prompt: "ipconfig /renew" (Without quotations)

    Thanks for reading, if you have any suggestions or have an easier way to change your IP please let me know.

    Guide by Nik; 3/27/2012
    Last edited by Nik; 03-31-2012 at 11:37 AM.

  2. The Following 11 Users Say Thank You to Nik For This Useful Post:

    Babybumble (03-27-2012),kooldude888 (11-19-2012),M.V.P (01-10-2013),Matt~ (12-04-2012),metaldroga (11-25-2012),Ryan~ (03-26-2012),Slasher (03-26-2012),Trinket (01-10-2013),xRomanChan (04-14-2012),yamakracker (01-10-2013),zxzero (04-01-2012)

  3. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Gender
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    0
    Thanks
    260
    Thanked 352 Times in 142 Posts


    Downloads
    42
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    162 Post(s)
    Time Online
    N/A
    Avg. Time Online
    N/A
    Rep Power
    0
    Www.whatismyipaddress.com is better, more in depth.
    Nice guide though!
    Mine changes when I unplug the modem for like.. 5 minutes or reset the router. :p

  4. #3
    J_L_K_64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Gender
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,379
    Thanks
    608
    Thanked 766 Times in 429 Posts


    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    319 Post(s)
    Time Online
    4 d 13 m
    Avg. Time Online
    3 m
    Rep Power
    7
    Gamer IDs

    PSN ID: J_L_K_64
    there is another method i know of, it uses a program to spoof your MAC, and you can change it to a random ip, or a set one............ just saying............

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to J_L_K_64 For This Useful Post:

    zxzero (03-31-2012)

  6. #4
    Headless Kristin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Gender
    Location
    NC, USA
    Age
    27
    Posts
    1,938
    Thanks
    606
    Thanked 745 Times in 407 Posts


    Downloads
    14
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    352 Post(s)
    Time Online
    1 d 20 h 51 m
    Avg. Time Online
    1 m
    Rep Power
    8
    Gamer IDs

    PSN ID: invader__grimm
    Moving this to the technology section.

  7. #5

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Gender
    Location
    Canada, Eh?
    Posts
    328
    Thanks
    83
    Thanked 47 Times in 29 Posts


    Downloads
    28
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    52 Post(s)
    Time Online
    21 h 4 m
    Avg. Time Online
    N/A
    Rep Power
    7
    For method A, idk if it actually works if you turn it off overnight. It only works when you flip it off then back on because you have a dynamic IP address. Which is what I have, and it's pretty awesome. I can get a new IP in like...2 minutes and I just alternate between accounts

  8. #6
    Babybumble's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Gender
    Location
    Smallest Country In Asia (SG)
    Posts
    401
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 35 Times in 29 Posts


    Downloads
    177
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    48 Post(s)
    Time Online
    2 d 15 h 57 m
    Avg. Time Online
    2 m
    Rep Power
    7
    nice guide

  9. #7
    Neuropathy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Gender
    Posts
    97
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 19 Times in 9 Posts


    Downloads
    9
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Time Online
    7 h 12 m
    Avg. Time Online
    N/A
    Rep Power
    6
    Unfortunately, I have found, that Method C does not like to work with Windows 7. It used to work beautifully with WindowsXP, but there's something about Windows 7's configuration that doesn't like releasing and renewing your IP to a new dynamic address.

    I fought with it for DAYS trying to get it to renew to a different IP, searched the snot out of it trying to find a solution and everything I have read states that it's some sort of system configuration that can't be changed. I've tried it every which way I can THINK of(Reset modem/router/IP release. Leave modem off over night/IP Release, etc) and I CANNOT squeeze a new IP out of it. I DO have a dynamic IP through my ISP, but it will not reset on my command, only when the lease expires.

  10. #8
    Nik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Gender
    Posts
    228
    Thanks
    124
    Thanked 107 Times in 70 Posts


    Downloads
    30
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    43 Post(s)
    Time Online
    8 d 22 h 56 m
    Avg. Time Online
    6 m
    Rep Power
    7
    @Nueropathy Interesting, there are other methods of changing IP though, I'll see if I can find them for you

  11. #9
    zxzero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Gender
    Location
    01100111 01110101 01100101 01110011 01110011
    Posts
    2,146
    Thanks
    1,494
    Thanked 955 Times in 457 Posts


    Downloads
    167
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    273 Post(s)
    Time Online
    56 d 4 h 26 m
    Avg. Time Online
    42 m
    Rep Power
    11
    @Nik You forgot to mention that this does not work on static IPs, only dynamic. xD

  12. #10
    Nik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Gender
    Posts
    228
    Thanks
    124
    Thanked 107 Times in 70 Posts


    Downloads
    30
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    43 Post(s)
    Time Online
    8 d 22 h 56 m
    Avg. Time Online
    6 m
    Rep Power
    7
    @zxzero Oh I forgot, thanks! I'll edit that it +rep

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •