24/0
    Mentioned
    88 times
    Time Online
    22d 22h 4m
    Avg. Time Online
    7m

[+Rep] Help with choosing+buying a new Android phone? [+Rep]

Figured you guys might have relevant experience with this. Especially if anyone here has worked at AT&T? I apologize in advance if this is rambling as I have no idea what I'm doing. Hopefully some +rep makes up for that.

I've been using a second hand Samsung S5 for about 2 years. Was in great shape when I got it but now the screen is cracked, the battery is puffy+doesn't hold a consistent charge, and the charging cord is frayed almost to the point of sparking. In other words, it is no longer reliable and I don't want to put money in to fixing it.

I have AT&T on a family plan and an upgrade slot available.

Things I do with my phone that may or not be relevant:
    -I rarely use my phone for anything besides web browsing on Chrome, while on wifi. That is the only downloaded app I use.
    -I throw my phone. A lot. I need to be able to drop it from waist height onto a wood/linoleum floor with no problems... this happens multiple times a week.
    -I keep my phone in my pocket with keys.

Things I want:
    -Watch/stream HD videos no problem... Current quality on my phone is fine and it's 3 years old so this is probably a non-issue
    -Be able to fit it in my pocket. Light gel/soft case and glass screen protector are what I'll put on it.
    -Honestly I have no idea what phones cost or what it means that I have an upgrade available on my plan but something "reasonable"

No interest in Apple or really anything besides Samsung as it's all I've known since going from a flip phone.
    Recommendations on a model/what would you want?
    Is there a particularly good time to buy (black friday??) or no? Would like to get it before Christmas.

Thank you for reading!

Userbars
    Thanks
    DL/UL
    156/0
    Mentioned
    46 times
    Time Online
    19d 18h 35m
    Avg. Time Online
    8m