Thanks
    Mentioned
    219 times
    Time Online
    40d 7h 25m
    Avg. Time Online
    15m

Fasting tips?

I've been eating poorly for a few years, feeling unhealthy. Decided to go on a fast to reset my feelings about food because I'm addicted to junk. I'm looking to do a 5 day fast to clean out my system among other benefits. Has anyone done a fast like this and do you have any tips?

Some websites say to just stick to water for the duration of it, but I'm wondering about blood sugar and electrolyte imbalances.

Thanks for the help!

Userbars
    Thanks
    DL/UL
    34/0
    Mentioned
    315 times
    Time Online
    49d 2h 15m
    Avg. Time Online
    16m
    To be honest you will be doing more harm than good with a fast. There is no such thing as body detox diets or those other similar worded fasts and such. It is snake oile salesmen looking for a quick buck. Your liver, kidneys, and skin do the work of ridding your body of harmful things. Your body needs sustenance to properly function. Without proper diet of at least some food your body will enter a survival mode in which it will start to consume itself for energy. That is not good as you will then have to deal with the out of whack body systems. Simply do not fast.

Instead avoid the foods that cause you the problem. Of course that is easier said than done. But if there is no junk food in the house you cannot go straight to it. You will need to start incorporating the more healthy foods into your diet. Try vegetables and dip rather than a bag of chips. Order the side salad instead of the plate of fries. There is no need to overhaul to rabbit food and overwhelm yourself. Just go slow and it will become easier.

3. The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to Sci_Girl For This Useful Post:

Banannie (10-16-2015),Cath (10-16-2015),Ghosts (10-16-2015),hissi (10-16-2015),I_royalty_I (10-16-2015),teddy (10-16-2015)

Thanks
    DL/UL
    127/0
    Mentioned
    575 times
    Time Online
    62d 4h 17m