Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Question about GIMP! +rep

  1. #1
    Batgirl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Gender
    Location
    Gotham
    Age
    24
    Posts
    1,325
    Thanks
    871
    Thanked 687 Times in 413 Posts


    Downloads
    8
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    325 Post(s)
    Time Online
    40 d 5 h 21 m
    Avg. Time Online
    32 m
    Rep Power
    7

    Question about GIMP! +rep

    Okay so I added a gif into a graphic I'm making as a new layer.

    Erm, any way to move all the layers together, yet keep the animation?

    I'm a total noob when it comes to Graphics, so please just keep it as simple as possible, otherwise I'll be like:

    +rep to first person who can help me!

  2. #2


    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Gender
    Posts
    820
    Thanks
    221
    Thanked 221 Times in 165 Posts


    Downloads
    47
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    107 Post(s)
    Time Online
    97 d 22 h 39 m
    Avg. Time Online
    1 h 21 m
    Rep Power
    0
    I don't know if it's the same for GIMP, but you can't in Photoshop, as the frames will all be the same.
    I'll go download GIMP and see. Will edit this post.

    So, you want to add a GIF on an existing graphic? Sorry, I'm kind of slow Haven't slept yet.
    Still downloading.. Net is slow.. 13 minutes or more. *facepalm*
    Last edited by Dream; 04-19-2013 at 07:28 PM.

  3. #3
    Batgirl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Gender
    Location
    Gotham
    Age
    24
    Posts
    1,325
    Thanks
    871
    Thanked 687 Times in 413 Posts


    Downloads
    8
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    325 Post(s)
    Time Online
    40 d 5 h 21 m
    Avg. Time Online
    32 m
    Rep Power
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by Dream View Post
    I don't know if it's the same for GIMP, but you can't in Photoshop, as the frames will all be the same.
    I'll go download GIMP and see. Will edit this post.

    So, you want to add a GIF on an existing graphic? Sorry, I'm kind of slow Haven't slept yet.
    Yes, I'm making a graphic myself and I'm hoping to add an existing gif into it ^^

    I thought I probably couldn't but if I can that would be awesome ^^

  4. #4


    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Gender
    Posts
    820
    Thanks
    221
    Thanked 221 Times in 165 Posts


    Downloads
    47
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    107 Post(s)
    Time Online
    97 d 22 h 39 m
    Avg. Time Online
    1 h 21 m
    Rep Power
    0
    So that means you want to add an existing GIF on it, right? (e.g. a signature with a part of the video cut) And not animate the graphic yourself? (e.g. sparkle/shine on the graphic)
    Sorry for asking so many questions. x:

  5. #5
    Batgirl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Gender
    Location
    Gotham
    Age
    24
    Posts
    1,325
    Thanks
    871
    Thanked 687 Times in 413 Posts


    Downloads
    8
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    325 Post(s)
    Time Online
    40 d 5 h 21 m
    Avg. Time Online
    32 m
    Rep Power
    7
    No it's okay! Yeah, I'm not good at graphics myself, especially animated ones, so I'm using an already animated image lol D:

    I want to add a pre-existing animated gif to a plain, transparent canvas, and want to be able to move it where I want without losing the animation, and without having to separately move the layers and have a off-centered animation LOL

  6. #6


    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Gender
    Posts
    820
    Thanks
    221
    Thanked 221 Times in 165 Posts


    Downloads
    47
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    107 Post(s)
    Time Online
    97 d 22 h 39 m
    Avg. Time Online
    1 h 21 m
    Rep Power
    0
    GIMP is still downloading.. @_@ Takes forever Dx
    Try pressing CTRL+Click on the layers then move them?

  7. #7
    Batgirl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Gender
    Location
    Gotham
    Age
    24
    Posts
    1,325
    Thanks
    871
    Thanked 687 Times in 413 Posts


    Downloads
    8
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    325 Post(s)
    Time Online
    40 d 5 h 21 m
    Avg. Time Online
    32 m
    Rep Power
    7
    I did ctrl, alt, and shift, none work D:

  8. #8
    Daenery's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Gender
    Location
    Zoboo Land (ง˙▿˙)ง
    Posts
    618
    Thanks
    367
    Thanked 543 Times in 407 Posts


    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    257 Post(s)
    Time Online
    18 d 16 h 52 m
    Avg. Time Online
    15 m
    Rep Power
    6
    Ah I wish I could help, I made gifs in Photoshop all the time but I'm not sure about how similar GIMP is. In Photoshop, each frame of a gif is represented by a layer so all you'd need to do is group the layers together and move the whole group at once (usually while Frame 1 is selected in the Animations tray so it applies to all frames afterwards). In PS you can select multiple layers at a time from the layers panel by holding down shift or control while clicking them. If you have a larger, stationary graphic you want in the background you'd just leave its layer closer to the bottom so the smaller gif layers are above it. You could even get fancy and incorporate multiple gifs in the same graphic providing you edit the gifs so they both have the same number of frames, heheh.

    I might try downloading GIMP later but I'm also trying to find a usable Photoshop CS5/6 right now, which isn't working out so well. ;w; Wish I could help more, sorry;

  9. #9
    Batgirl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Gender
    Location
    Gotham
    Age
    24
    Posts
    1,325
    Thanks
    871
    Thanked 687 Times in 413 Posts


    Downloads
    8
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    325 Post(s)
    Time Online
    40 d 5 h 21 m
    Avg. Time Online
    32 m
    Rep Power
    7
    Each frame is also a layer in gimp, but I can't select more than one at a time. ;3

    /fail

    @Lorn

  10. #10


    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Gender
    Posts
    820
    Thanks
    221
    Thanked 221 Times in 165 Posts


    Downloads
    47
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    107 Post(s)
    Time Online
    97 d 22 h 39 m
    Avg. Time Online
    1 h 21 m
    Rep Power
    0
    Yup, you can't. x: Took a while for the GIMP setup to finish. <___< xD

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •