Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Tor not working... sigh

  1. #1



    Cupcake.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Gender
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,387
    Thanks
    574
    Thanked 1,883 Times in 866 Posts


    Downloads
    10
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    297 Post(s)
    Time Online
    45 d 22 h 36 m
    Avg. Time Online
    35 m
    Rep Power
    9

    Tor not working... sigh

    I got a sony vaio with windows 8. Just started reloading all my old junk. Tor bundle isn't working. I'll click on it to pull a page up and it says "unable to start vidalia".

    wtf does that even mean?

  2. #2

    nayfeee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Gender
    Location
    Manchester, England
    Posts
    1,620
    Thanks
    862
    Thanked 742 Times in 449 Posts


    Downloads
    26
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    313 Post(s)
    Time Online
    86 d 1 h 38 m
    Avg. Time Online
    1 h 5 m
    Rep Power
    8
    First of all - death to Windows 8. It is the pain in my working day ass.

    I just had a little read about your problem and can't really see much. Is that the exact error or are there other parts to it?

  3. #3



    Cupcake.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Gender
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,387
    Thanks
    574
    Thanked 1,883 Times in 866 Posts


    Downloads
    10
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    297 Post(s)
    Time Online
    45 d 22 h 36 m
    Avg. Time Online
    35 m
    Rep Power
    9
    That's all there is. Worked on my hubby's comp. just not mine.
    I am working on adjusting to windows 8. Not in love yet.


    @Ryan~
    @John
    Last edited by Cupcake.; 03-24-2013 at 08:52 PM.

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Gender
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    747
    Thanked 1,255 Times in 692 Posts


    Downloads
    86
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    464 Post(s)
    Time Online
    70 d 14 h 40 m
    Avg. Time Online
    56 m
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by cupcakeninja View Post
    I got a sony vaio with windows 8. Just started reloading all my old junk. Tor bundle isn't working. I'll click on it to pull a page up and it says "unable to start vidalia".

    wtf does that even mean?
    Vidala is the service behind the Tor browser. Vidala is what does all the routing to make your connection secure. Last time I used Tor browser you had to start Vidala before you could even run the browser.

  5. #5



    Cupcake.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Gender
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,387
    Thanks
    574
    Thanked 1,883 Times in 866 Posts


    Downloads
    10
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    297 Post(s)
    Time Online
    45 d 22 h 36 m
    Avg. Time Online
    35 m
    Rep Power
    9
    Explain that.

  6. #6

    nayfeee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Gender
    Location
    Manchester, England
    Posts
    1,620
    Thanks
    862
    Thanked 742 Times in 449 Posts


    Downloads
    26
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    313 Post(s)
    Time Online
    86 d 1 h 38 m
    Avg. Time Online
    1 h 5 m
    Rep Power
    8
    Vidalia is the grey window that opens where you click "Start Tor Browser" and "Use a New Identity" etc. - not the actual window you browse in

  7. #7



    Cupcake.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Gender
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,387
    Thanks
    574
    Thanked 1,883 Times in 866 Posts


    Downloads
    10
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    297 Post(s)
    Time Online
    45 d 22 h 36 m
    Avg. Time Online
    35 m
    Rep Power
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by nayfeee View Post
    Vidalia is the grey window that opens where you click "Start Tor Browser" and "Use a New Identity" etc. - not the actual window you browse in
    Then y it no work?!???

  8. #8
    Pestix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Gender
    Posts
    797
    Thanks
    140
    Thanked 103 Times in 87 Posts


    Downloads
    3
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    62 Post(s)
    Time Online
    15 d 11 h 45 m
    Avg. Time Online
    11 m
    Rep Power
    6
    Its working fine for me right now so its gotta be something with your settings..

    Try redownloading it? It might not be compatible with windows 8

  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Gender
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    747
    Thanked 1,255 Times in 692 Posts


    Downloads
    86
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    464 Post(s)
    Time Online
    70 d 14 h 40 m
    Avg. Time Online
    56 m
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by cupcakeninja View Post
    I got a sony vaio with windows 8. Just started reloading all my old junk. Tor bundle isn't working. I'll click on it to pull a page up and it says "unable to start vidalia".

    wtf does that even mean?
    Now that I'm free, I'd be happy to take a look into this for you. PM me and I'm sure we can work it out together.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •