Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Vista issues?

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Gender
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    747
    Thanked 1,255 Times in 692 Posts


    Downloads
    86
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    464 Post(s)
    Time Online
    70 d 14 h 40 m
    Avg. Time Online
    56 m
    Rep Power
    0

    Vista issues?

    I'm doing some troubleshooting for a user on Clraik who is running Windows Vista. The programs that use the black Clraik authorization screen before allowing access to the program do not seem to work for this individual. I ensured via screen share that all of the library files, service pack, and miscellaneous OCX files were added and registered appropriately.

    What occurs is when opening one of these files, they are prompted to authorize their credentials on the Clraik authorization screen. They do so, hit the login button, and then the authorization screen disappears but the window for said program does not appear. However, in checking task manager, the process for the program still appears to be running (Shopprice.exe, MTKiller.exe) but there is no window visible. No application to bring to front in the applications section of task manager.

    I'm out of ideas. Any thoughts my fellow users?

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to wrath For This Useful Post:

    Toasted (01-30-2013)

  3. #2
    SmileYaDead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Gender
    Age
    27
    Posts
    3,605
    Thanks
    802
    Thanked 812 Times in 453 Posts


    Downloads
    96
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    352 Post(s)
    Time Online
    80 d 17 h 14 m
    Avg. Time Online
    1 h 1 m
    Rep Power
    11
    Upgrade to 7?

    Try running as admin. I've seen this be a problem for many users, but I still don't know the correct solution.

  4. #3
    Toasted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Gender
    Location
    --
    Posts
    1,210
    Thanks
    1,630
    Thanked 780 Times in 516 Posts


    Downloads
    16
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    467 Post(s)
    Time Online
    29 d 9 h 6 m
    Avg. Time Online
    23 m
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by SmileYaDead View Post
    Upgrade to 7?

    Try running as admin. I've seen this be a problem for many users, but I still don't know the correct solution.
    What should someone do if their computer won't support Win7?

  5. #4
    SmileYaDead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Gender
    Age
    27
    Posts
    3,605
    Thanks
    802
    Thanked 812 Times in 453 Posts


    Downloads
    96
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    352 Post(s)
    Time Online
    80 d 17 h 14 m
    Avg. Time Online
    1 h 1 m
    Rep Power
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by Toasted View Post
    What should someone do if their computer won't support Win7?
    Get a new computer. O.o

    Or upgrade your hardware.

  6. #5
    Toasted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Gender
    Location
    --
    Posts
    1,210
    Thanks
    1,630
    Thanked 780 Times in 516 Posts


    Downloads
    16
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    467 Post(s)
    Time Online
    29 d 9 h 6 m
    Avg. Time Online
    23 m
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by SmileYaDead View Post
    Get a new computer. O.o

    Or upgrade your hardware.
    My laptop was left to me by my mum who passed away; it's 7 years old, and I can't afford a new computer right now because I'm a brand new mom.

  7. #6
    SmileYaDead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Gender
    Age
    27
    Posts
    3,605
    Thanks
    802
    Thanked 812 Times in 453 Posts


    Downloads
    96
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    352 Post(s)
    Time Online
    80 d 17 h 14 m
    Avg. Time Online
    1 h 1 m
    Rep Power
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by Toasted View Post
    My laptop was left to me by my mum who passed away; it's 7 years old, and I can't afford a new computer right now because I'm a brand new mom.
    Sorry to hear about your mum :/

    You can probably get a used laptop cheap, if you ever get around to it

  8. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to SmileYaDead For This Useful Post:

    iBeast (02-09-2013),Toasted (01-30-2013)

  9. #7
    Toasted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Gender
    Location
    --
    Posts
    1,210
    Thanks
    1,630
    Thanked 780 Times in 516 Posts


    Downloads
    16
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    467 Post(s)
    Time Online
    29 d 9 h 6 m
    Avg. Time Online
    23 m
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by SmileYaDead View Post
    Sorry to hear about your mum :/

    You can probably get a used laptop cheap, if you ever get around to it
    Thanks hun <3

    And yeah, I'm hoping to. I really want a Gateway (the newer ones '10 and up look so nice *o*) or an Asus (my favorite brand).
    My current is an Acer Aspire 5515 x_x It's got AMD Athlon 64 and Basic Vista. ;~;


  10. #8

    Mod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Gender
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,821
    Thanks
    1,563
    Thanked 4,711 Times in 2,504 Posts


    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    1365 Post(s)
    Time Online
    131 d 12 h 4 m
    Avg. Time Online
    1 h 42 m
    Rep Power
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by Toasted View Post
    Thanks hun <3

    And yeah, I'm hoping to. I really want a Gateway (the newer ones '10 and up look so nice *o*) or an Asus (my favorite brand).
    My current is an Acer Aspire 5515 x_x It's got AMD Athlon 64 and Basic Vista. ;~;

    Do you have a budget, or future budget when you get the funds?

    A64 by the way, was the shit. Completely blew Intel out of the water and was the best processor of its time...when AMD was trading at ~$40 a share. lol at its current share price.

  11. #9
    Toasted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Gender
    Location
    --
    Posts
    1,210
    Thanks
    1,630
    Thanked 780 Times in 516 Posts


    Downloads
    16
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    467 Post(s)
    Time Online
    29 d 9 h 6 m
    Avg. Time Online
    23 m
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Mod View Post
    Do you have a budget, or future budget when you get the funds?

    A64 by the way, was the shit. Completely blew Intel out of the water and was the best processor of its time...when AMD was trading at ~$40 a share. lol at its current share price.
    When I have the funds, I'd like to buy a nice laptop for between $500 and $700.

    And yeah, I guess I just got spoiled by occasionally using my husband's new desktop that his parents got him. ._.

  12. #10
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Gender
    Location
    A Place
    Posts
    637
    Thanks
    300
    Thanked 184 Times in 151 Posts


    Downloads
    28
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    171 Post(s)
    Time Online
    15 d 13 h 55 m
    Avg. Time Online
    11 m
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Toasted View Post
    When I have the funds, I'd like to buy a nice laptop for between $500 and $700.

    And yeah, I guess I just got spoiled by occasionally using my husband's new desktop that his parents got him. ._.
    500-700$ is a ton!
    I spent 200$ and got a Lenovo.
    Great computer.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •