Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Totally restoring a "bricked" laptop

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Gender
    Posts
    1,131
    Thanks
    182
    Thanked 210 Times in 161 Posts


    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    121 Post(s)
    Time Online
    19 d 9 h 4 m
    Avg. Time Online
    14 m
    Rep Power
    7

    Totally restoring a "bricked" laptop

    I have a very old laptop that didnt use to work, it had no OS too due to me screwing around way back then.

    I created a bootable CD with Windows XP on it and then managed to give my "bricked" laptop an operating system

    So now it has an OS, great..
    BUT now my laptop can't seem to turn it's wireless and bluetooth capabilities.
    So I wonder if anyone could help me with this.

    I'm thinking it has something to do with installing devices.
    Let's just assume I don't have the documents/CD stuff that came with the laptop, since it's so old.

    So if anyone could help me/give me some useful links it'll be good
    It's a HP laptop
    Pavilion dv 1000

    I want this laptop to run .exe programs that my Mac can't
    Last edited by Shawn; 12-18-2012 at 11:14 AM.

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Gender
    Location
    90 90
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,714
    Thanks
    876
    Thanked 2,877 Times in 1,139 Posts


    Downloads
    44
    Uploads
    1
    Mentioned
    562 Post(s)
    Time Online
    118 d 6 h 45 m
    Avg. Time Online
    1 h 30 m
    Rep Power
    0
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: DarkByt3 PSN ID: raredaredevil
    Sounds like you do not have a wireless driver to me:

    Download Sandra:
    http://www.sisoftware.co.uk//?d=dloa...l_3264&l=en&a=



    Run it and hit "buses and devices".

    Under the class and interface options go through them all until you find your wireless card heres mine:

    In this case I would google "Dell Dw1501 wireless driver"



    Now just download the driver and install it , also make sure theres not a wireless switch on your laptop thats turned off , sometimes this will be a blue wireless symbol on one of your F-Keys , if this is the case . hold the blue Fn key on your laptop and press the button.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Gender
    Posts
    1,131
    Thanks
    182
    Thanked 210 Times in 161 Posts


    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    121 Post(s)
    Time Online
    19 d 9 h 4 m
    Avg. Time Online
    14 m
    Rep Power
    7
    I have a wireless switch, it's used to toggle my wifi and I have a bluetooth one too.
    But right now it can't toggle my wifi as somehow the wifi driver is not detected

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Gender
    Location
    90 90
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,714
    Thanks
    876
    Thanked 2,877 Times in 1,139 Posts


    Downloads
    44
    Uploads
    1
    Mentioned
    562 Post(s)
    Time Online
    118 d 6 h 45 m
    Avg. Time Online
    1 h 30 m
    Rep Power
    0
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: DarkByt3 PSN ID: raredaredevil
    Then the driver is not installed follow the above , sandra detects what wireless card u have without drivers

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Gender
    Posts
    1,131
    Thanks
    182
    Thanked 210 Times in 161 Posts


    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    121 Post(s)
    Time Online
    19 d 9 h 4 m
    Avg. Time Online
    14 m
    Rep Power
    7
    Ok thanks I'll see how this goes.

    I have to run the sandra installation exe on my parrallels (that I just installed LOL)

    ---------- Post added at 01:26 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:54 AM ----------

    Oh no, Sandra:
    Failed to connect to target computer.
    SiSoftware Sandra server not started, Check SiSoftware Sandra Installation @raredaredevil
    Last edited by Shawn; 12-18-2012 at 12:39 PM.

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Gender
    Location
    90 90
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,714
    Thanks
    876
    Thanked 2,877 Times in 1,139 Posts


    Downloads
    44
    Uploads
    1
    Mentioned
    562 Post(s)
    Time Online
    118 d 6 h 45 m
    Avg. Time Online
    1 h 30 m
    Rep Power
    0
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: DarkByt3 PSN ID: raredaredevil
    Do you have internet access right now if so you could try the hp driver downloader:

    http://h20614.www2.hp.com/ediags/gmd...product=435648


    This will install drivers automatically

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Gender
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts


    Downloads
    4
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Time Online
    2 h 29 m
    Avg. Time Online
    N/A
    Rep Power
    5
    If you have an ethernet cable, you can plug it in. Most likely your ethernet port is already supported through the small amount of drivers built into xp.

    Worst case scenario, just use a wireless usb adapter to download your drivers.

    Just my two cents.

  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Gender
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    747
    Thanked 1,255 Times in 692 Posts


    Downloads
    86
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    464 Post(s)
    Time Online
    70 d 14 h 40 m
    Avg. Time Online
    56 m
    Rep Power
    0

  9. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to wrath For This Useful Post:

    Brittanee (03-06-2013),DarkByte (03-06-2013)

  10. #9

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Gender
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    592
    Thanks
    219
    Thanked 288 Times in 170 Posts


    Downloads
    16
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    57 Post(s)
    Time Online
    11 d 21 h 31 m
    Avg. Time Online
    9 m
    Rep Power
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by TinCan View Post
    If you have an ethernet cable, you can plug it in. Most likely your ethernet port is already supported through the small amount of drivers built into xp.

    Worst case scenario, just use a wireless usb adapter to download your drivers.

    Just my two cents.
    ^This, also if you just need it to run exe that your mac can't I doubt you'd be taking it around with you anywhere so having it wired wouldn't be that big of a deal imo


    Nevermind just saw the date of the original post.. I get that picture now :o

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •